# 178. The list system of the distribution of Legislative powers originated in India by

- (A) Minto-Morley Act, 1909
- Montagu-Chelmsford Act, 1919
- (C) Government of India Act, 1935
- (D) The India's Independent Act, 1947
- (E) Answer not known
- இந்திய சட்டமியற்றும் அதிகாரங்களை பகிர்ந்தளிப்பதற்கான பட்டியல் அமைப்பு முறை இந்த சட்டத்திலிருந்து உருவானது
- (A) மின்டோ-மார்லி சீர்திருத்தச் சட்டம், 1909
  - (B) மாண்டேகு-செம்ஸ்போர்ட் சட்டம், 1919
  - (C) இந்திய அரசாங்கச் சட்டம், 1935
  - (D) இந்திய சுதந்திரச் சட்டம், 1947
  - (E) விடை தெரியவில்லை

Title of the Book : 12th Std Political Science School Book

**Author** : Government of Tamil Nadu

**Publisher** : Tamil NaduTextbook and Educational

Services Corporation

**Year of Publication** : 2023

Edition : 4
Page Number : 89

## 10.Unified Auditing

India follows a unified auditing system for both the central and State governments. The Comptroller and Auditor-General as mentioned in article 148 of the Constitution controls the entire financial system of the country.

#### 5.2. Centre-State Relations

The Centre-State Relations revolve around the fulcrum of distribution of powers between Centre and States. Distribution of powers is the foundational feature of federalism and in federal Constitutions there are three types of distributions, they are:

- 1. Legislative Power Distribution
- 2. Executive Power Distribution
- 3. Financial Power Distribution

## 5.2.1 Legislative Relations

There are two aspects to the distribution of legislative powers between the Centre and States in our Constitution. They are

- a) Territorial Distribution of Powers
- b) Subject Distribution

## a) Territorial Distribution of Powers

The powers are distributed between the union and State governments territorially. The Union Government possess the powers over the entire territory of India while the States have jurisdiction over their own territories. The Central Government has extra territorial jurisdiction that means that its laws govern not only persons and property within India but also Indian citizens and their properties located in any corner of the world. In contrast, the State legislatures do

not possess jurisdiction outside their own territory.

## b) Subject Distribution

The Constitution distributes the legislative subjects between the Union Government and States in an elaborate scheme. There are three Lists of distribution.

**List I (Union List)** contains the subjects and powers exclusively allotted to the union parliament. There are 100 subjects here including defense, foreign affairs, banking, currency

List II (State List) contains the subjects that are exclusively allotted to the State governments. There are 59 items including public order, and police, public health, local government, agriculture, forests, fisheries

List III (Concurrent List) contains 52 items including criminal law and procedure, civil procedure, marriage, education. This list is called as Concurrent List. Both the union and State governments have powers over these subjects. But when there occurs a clash between the union and State governments the law of the parliament will prevail

There is also another category called residuary powers. Any subject not mentioned in the above three lists will automatically come under the jurisdiction of the Union Government. Our Constitution broadly follows the legislative distribution of powers provided in the Government of India Act 1935 enacted during the British colonial era.

## **Exceptions**

The above scheme of legislative power distribution will be normally followed.



